## STATE of NEW YORK, COUNTY OF SARATOGA AFFIDAVIT AND APPLICATION FOR CERTIFICATE OF RESIDENCE IN CONNECTION WITH ATTENDANCE AT A COMMUNITY COLLEGE

I,	, hereby swear (or affirm) that I reside* at:
Name	
Physical Street Address	City State, Zip
I have lived at the above address from / / to	o present.
of New York. I swear (or affirm) that I have been a resident* or <b>prior</b> to the date of this affidavit and application, and that I have	, in the County of, State of the State of New York for a period of <b>at least one year immediately</b> we been a resident* of the County of Saratoga for of the six months esided at the following places during the <b>year immediately prior</b> to the on is a crime punishable by law):
Former addresses include:	/ / to//
	/ / to//
I further swear (or affirm) the following information:	DI ODI (I USA
Date of Birth / / US Citizen? Yes No	Place of Birth: Other (specify)
Date of high school graduation / GED (or anticipated date)	/ Active Duty Military
Social Security No	Spouse or Dependent of Active Duty Military
Phone # (Day) Email Address:	
Mailing Address if different	
I further state that I am registered / expect to be registered at	Community
College and will attend the college during the	/ semester.
Current High School Student? Yes No If yes,	
	High School Name Grade
FOR NOTARY PUBLIC / CLERK USE ONLY:	
Sworn before me this day of,	SIGNATURE OF APPLICANT / DATE
	RESIDENCY PROOF SHOWN:
Notary Public My term expires /	RENEWAL []//
	(Term) (Year)
Certificate [] issued [] rejected by:	on / /

\*"Resident" is defined by New York Education Law, Section 6301, paragraph 4, and Saratoga County Policy on Reimbursement of Community College Costs, Section III.

# Additional proof needed:\_\_\_\_\_

Date:\_\_\_\_\_

# Andrew B. Jarosh, Saratoga County Treasurer

40 McMaster Street, Ballston Spa, New York 12020 Telephone (518) 884-4724 Fax (518) 884-4775

# Certificate of Residency \*Refer to Education Law, Section 6301 paragraph 4, and Section 6305.

#### Requirements

In order to have Saratoga County participate in the cost of his or her community college education, a student must obtain a Certificate of Residency and submit it to the college. Military personnel on active duty, as well as their spouses and dependents, are entitled to the lower "Resident" rate.

A student must apply for a certificate no sooner than 60 days prior to the start of classes and no later than 30 days after the college's first day of classes. Certificates remain valid for one year of semesters, provided the student attends during the semester the certificate is issued. A student that does not register for the semester the certificate was issued, must apply for and receive a new certificate.

Students can obtain a certificate in person at the County Treasurer's Office. Students, who are U.S. citizens residing at their current address for at least twelve consecutive months, without moving, may obtain a certificate from their town or city clerk prior to the cutoff date. Cut-off dates are dictated by the start of classes at each college and will vary. Town and city clerks are only authorized to issue certificates until the start of the college semester. Students applying for a certificate after the beginning of the college semester must apply at County Treasurer's office. An application will be accepted from an individual other than the student only if the student's signature on the affidavit has been notarized and sufficient proof is submitted.

## Eligibility

- A student must be a <u>continuous</u> resident of New York State for one year immediately preceding the date of application *AND*
- A student must have been a resident of Saratoga County for at least one month within the six months immediately preceding the date of application. A student that has not been a resident of Saratoga County for that <u>entire</u> six-month period must obtain a certificate from each county of residence within the six-month period. He/she must apply at the County Treasurer's Office.
- Non-citizens are required to document their resident status and must apply at the County Treasurer's Office for their first certificate. Non-citizens renewing a certificate of residency that have resided at their current residence for twelve consecutive months, without moving may obtain their certificate from their town or city clerk providing the proof used for residence status has not expired.

## **Elements of Acceptable Proof**

- \* At a minimum, two proofs are required: One must be 12-18 months old and one less than 30 days old.
- Each document must be dated and include name and physical street address. Documents with a post office box will <u>not</u> suffice unless a physical address is also indicated.
- Each residence on the application must be documented. Proof will be required within 30 days of the date of any move in the past year.
- No claim of residency will be accepted solely on your testimony or that of your parents, relatives, friends or other individuals.
- The standard of proof will not be compromised because you have left yourself insufficient time to obtain acceptable proof.

## Examples of Acceptable Proof (must include name, physical address and be dated accordingly)

- College correspondence including bills or schedule of classes
- Bank statements
- ✤ Utility bills
- Medical records including prescriptions
- Report cards with an issue date of 1 year old, or within 30 days
- Dated mail or postmarked envelopes
- ✤ Income tax return with preprinted label or W2's
- Formal lease
- Driver's license, car registration and insurance card may be used when the issue date reflected is 1 year old, or within 30 days of application.

# Students who are not citizens of the United States applying for their first certificate must apply in the County Treasurer's Office

Required documentation:

- Permanent Resident Card
- Visa
- Immigration papers indicating permanent resident status

Acceptable proof is not limited to the above examples, but proof must contain all required elements to be accepted.